‘CTA Schaffter Award’ honours top scholars in Insurance & Valuation at Wayamba University

‘CTA Schaffter Award’ honours top scholars in Insurance & Valuation at Wayamba University

June 29, 2010   01:06 pm

S. Sivakumar won the Gold Medal and Cash Award, while M.H.M.C. Bandara won the Silver Medal, as part of the “CTA Schaffter Award 2010” at the recent convocation of the Wayamba University.

“The CTA Schaffter Award”, as it has been called, is awarded annually to the top three students who excel in the B.Sc (Hons) degree programme in Insurance and Valuation at the Wayamba University. This degree programme is widely instrumental in giving Sri Lanka fully fledged professionals in the spheres of insurance and valuation. The course extensively covers all aspects of insurance and valuation, and trains about 25 such graduates each year.

In recognition of C.T.A. Schaffter’s invaluable contribution to insurance in Sri Lanka, and, Janashakthi Insurance which he founded 16 years ago, the management of the company in collaboration with the Wayamba University of Sri Lanka launched this awards scheme three years ago.

The Best Student receives a Gold Medal and cash award while the second and third best students receive Silver and Bronze Medals and cash awards respectively.

Janashakthi’s Assistant General Manager of Human Resources Development Lalith Munasinghe said that three years down the line, the Company was happy with the success of this Award and the degree to which it inspired undergraduate students of insurance.

“In keeping with our credo, we also pay great importance to giving back to the society we operate in. This award is one such example. Not only does it bring in financial gain and recognition, but also empowers the winners as fully fledged insurance professionals and gives them greater employability”.

Photo caption – (from left): D.G.L Rasika (Lecturer, University of Wayamba), S.K. Gamage (Senior lecturer), M.H.M.C. Bandara (Silver Medal winner), S. Sivakumar (Gold Medal winner), Prakash Schaffter (Managing Director Janashakthi Insurance), Gamini Peiris (General Manager HR & Administration) and Lalith Munasinghe (Assistant General Manager, Human Resource Development). Absent R.G.I.S. Gamage (Bronze Medal winner)
Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories