More SLFP MPs to sit in opposition?

More SLFP MPs to sit in opposition?

April 17, 2018   04:25 pm

Another group of Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) parliamentarians in the National Government are preparing to sit in the opposition at the next session in Parliament, according to political sources. 

In the wake of the political crisis which had followed the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, a group of 16 SLFP ministers and MPs who voted in favour of the motion had decided to step down from their positions in the government. 

Accordingly they are expected to sit in the opposition when the new session commences on May 8, 2018. 

However, a minister who quit the government, speaking to Ada Derana on condition of anonymity, claimed that another group of MPs representing the SLFP in the national government are preparing to sit in the opposition. 

Meanwhile UNP MP Nalin Bandara says that he national government became stronger after the resignation of 16 SLFP ministers and MPs. 

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories