Special Select Committee to produce report on Easter attacks

Special Select Committee to produce report on Easter attacks

May 22, 2019   06:40 pm


A proposal by the ruling party to appoint a special Select Committee to produce a report on the Easter Sunday attacks was passed at the parliament without a vote.

Accordingly, the Special Select Committee will be made up by 40 parliamentarians to report information on the Easter attacks to the parliament.

The committee will comprise of 20 MPs from the ruling party, 13 MPs representing the main Opposition, 05 MPs from the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) and 02 MPs representing Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP).

The Committee will look into whether intelligence officers had received information on the Easter Day attacks prior to the attacks and if so, adequate measures had been taken to prevent or minimize such attacks.

The Committee should produce its report either within 03 months from its inaugural meeting or before the completion of the 03 months on a date set by the parliament.

Meanwhile, a request from the Opposition for a date to debate the no-confidence motion against Minister Rishad Bathiudeen has led to a tense situation at the parliament, today (22).

Subsequently, the Speaker adjourned the parliament until 10 am tomorrow morning (23).

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories