West Indies win toss and elect to bat

West Indies win toss and elect to bat

June 6, 2018   07:53 pm


West Indies begin the three-match Test series against Sri Lanka in Trinidad. West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and opted to bat first.

Holder on the toss said, “We are gonna bat first. This is one of the best wickets that I have seen at Trinidad. I think last year was a pretty decent year for us. We have got some fresh faces coming into our side. Hetmyer and Hamilton miss out. Devon has done well in domestic cricket and is back. And this series is about comebacks as well. Devon Smith is back in the whites for the Windies team after three years and Mahela Udawatte is back for Lanka after an obscure period, though the latter is not playing today.”

Playing XIs:

Windies: Devon Smith, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich(w), Jason Holder(c), Devendra Bishoo, Kemar Roach, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal(c), Angelo Mathews, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage, Lahiru Kumara


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.