Sanga, Mahela shine at ICC awards

Sanga, Mahela shine at ICC awards

December 13, 2013   01:51 pm


Kumar Sangakkara has won the ICC ODI Cricketer of the year award while Mahela Jayawardena took the Spirit of Cricket award as announced by the ICC today. The lists of winners of the International Cricket Council awards were announced by the world governing body today.


Cricketer of the year: Michael Clarke (AUS)


Other nominees: Hashim Amla (RSA), James Anderson (ENG), Alastair Cook (ENG), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI).


Test cricketer of the year: Michael Clarke (AUS)


Other nominees: Hashim Amla (RSA), James Anderson (ENG), Ravichandran Ashwin (IND), Cheteshwar Pujara (IND), Dale Steyn (RSA).


One-day cricketer of the year: Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)


Other nominees: Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Shikhar Dhawan (IND), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Misbah ul-Haq (PAK), Ravindra Jadeja (IND).


Women’s one-day cricketer of the year: Suzie Bates (NZL)


Other nominees: Charlotte Edwards (ENG), Meg Lanning (AUS), Dane van Niekerk (RSA), Anya Shrubsole (ENG), Stafanie Taylor (WIS).


Emerging cricketer of the year: Cheteshwar Pujara (IND)


Other nominees: Trent Boult (NZL), Joe Root (ENG), Mitchell Starc (AUS).


Associate and Affiliate cricketer of the year: Kevin O’Brien (IRL) Other nominees: Kyle Coetzer (SCO), Ed Joyce (IRL), Nawroz Mangal (AFG).


Twenty20 international performance of the year: Umar Gul (PAK) - for bowling figures of 2.2-0-6-5 v South Africa, March 3, 2013.


Other nominees: Martin Guptill (NZL ) - 101 not out off 69 balls v South Africa, December 23, 2012; Brendon McCullum (NZL) - 123 off 53 balls v Bangladesh, October 1, 2012; Ajanth Mendis (SRI) - Bowling figures of 4-2-8-6 v Zimbabwe, September 18, 2012.


Women’s Twenty20 cricketer of the year: Sarah Taylor (ENG)


Other nominees: Suzie Bates (NZL), Shanel Daley (WIS), Deandra Dottin (WIS), Meg Lanning (AUS), Stafanie Taylor (WIS).


Umpire of the year: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)


Other nominees: Aleem Dar (PAK), Steve Davis (AUS), Kumar Dharmasena (SRI), Marais Erasmus (RSA), Ian Gould (ENG), Tony Hill (NZL), Richard Illingworth (ENG), Nigel Llong (ENG), Bruce Oxenford (AUS), Paul Reiffel (AUS), Rodney Tucker (AUS).


Spirit of cricket award: Mahela Jayawardene (SRI) - for not waiting for umpire’s decision after edging a catch to the wicket-keeper when he was batting on 91 against New Zealand in a Test match in Galle in November 2012.


Other nominee: Farhad Reza (BAN) - for confirming he had touched the boundary ropes and signalled a six after catching Pakistan opener Nasir Jamshed during the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in 2012.


People’s choice award (announced earlier): Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND)


Other nominees: Alastair Cook (ENG), Michael Clarke (AUS), Virat Kohli (IND), AB de Villiers (RSA).


ICC’s Test team of the year (in batting order - announced earlier): Alastair Cook (ENG, Capt.), Cheteshwar Pujara (IND), Hashim Amla (RSA), Michael Clarke (AUS), Michael Hussey (AUS), AB de Villiers (RSA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND, wicket-keeper), Graeme Swann (ENG), Dale Steyn (RSA), James Anderson (ENG), Vernon Philander (RSA). 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (IND).


ICC’s one-day team of the year (in batting order - announced earlier): Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI), Shikhar Dhawan (IND), Hashim Amla (RSA), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), AB de Villiers (RSA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND, Capt. and wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja (IND), Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Mitchell Starc (AUS), James Anderson (ENG), Lasith Malinga (SRI). 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZL).

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories