Chairperson of Human Rights Commission resigns

Chairperson of Human Rights Commission resigns

August 4, 2020   12:40 pm

Chairperson of the Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka (HRCSL) Dr. Deepika Udagama tendered her resignation from the post.

She has informed the decision to final Constitutional Council meeting of the Eighth Parliament yesterday (03).

Accordingly, she will be withdrawing from her duties as the Chairman of HRCSL from September 01.

The Constitutional Council appreciated the role played by her in elevating the status of the commission. 

Chairman Karu Jayasuriya informed the Constitutional Council that the Human Rights Commission is rated as one of the best in the world and that he would like to convey the appreciation to the Chairman and the members of the commission for the exceptional achievement.

The Constitutional Council met for the last time today under the chairmanship of Karu Jayasuriya held at the Speaker’s official residence last afternoon.

Chairman of Constitutional Council Karu Jayasuriya informed that this would be the last Constitutional Council meeting that he would be chairing and thanked Prime Minister and the members of the council for the support extended during his tenure.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, along with former members of Parliament Mahinda Samarasinghe and Bimal Ratnayake were present at the meeting.

The Constitutional Council considered the nominations received for the vacancies that exist in the Public Service Commission, Human Rights Commission and the office of the Reparations and decided to further consider the nominations at the next meeting. The Chairman informed the members that due to the small window exist from this meeting to the next Parliament it is better for the new Chairman and the members to decide on the nominations.

The Council also considered the quarterly reports received by the Finance Commission, the Delimitation Commission, the Audit Service Commission and the National Procurement Commission. 

Civil society representatives Javed Yousuf and Naganathan Selvakumaran, Secretary-General of the Constitutional Council and Secretary-General to the Parliament Dhammika Dassanayake were also present at this meeting.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

More Sri Lankans fall victim to Myanmar human trafficking racket? (English)

More Sri Lankans fall victim to Myanmar human trafficking racket? (English)

How the electricity tariff hike has severely impacted industries and school children in SL (English)

Is Sri Lanka actually attracting high-spending tourists? (English)

U.S. Deputy Secretary Verma commends Sri Lanka's economic recovery efforts (English)

LIVE🔴Ada Derana Prime Time News Bulletin 6.55 pm

Navam Full Moon Poya observed today; Gangarama Temple’s Annual Perahera to parade streets

LIVE🔴 Ada Derana Lunch Time News Bulletin 12.00 pm - 2024.02.23

Umpire Hannibal’s missed no-ball call sparks controversy; Wanindu Hasaranga faces suspension?