Sanga named captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year

Sanga named captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year

August 26, 2011   05:06 pm


Former Sri Lankan Cricket Captain, Kumar Sangakkara was named the captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year which was announced today (August 26). Sangakkara appears in the team of the year for the second time running.


The Test Team of the Year, was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd.  The announcement was made at the media conference to announce the short-lists for the LG ICC Awards 2011 which are due to be held in London on September 12.


Presented in association with FICA, the LG ICC Awards recognise the best international players of the past 12 months.  The ICC Test Team of the Year is (in batting order):


Alastair Cook (Eng)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Jonathan Trott (Eng)

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL – wicketkeeper/captain)

AB de Villiers (SA)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Graeme Swann (Eng)

Dale Steyn (SA)

James Anderson (Eng)

Zaheer Khan (Ind) (12th man)


Four countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and South Africa’s Dale Steyn has earned a place in the ICC World Test Team of the Year for the fourth successive year. He was also a member of the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2008, 2009 and 2010. 


India’s Sachin Tendulkar makes the line-up for the third year in a row – having appeared in the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2009 and 2010 while South Africans Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis, along with Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, and England duo of Graeme Swann and James Anderson all appearing for the second year in a row.


Former Sri Lanka skipper Sangakkara is named as captain of the team.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories