Ranil defeats Karu, reelected party leader

Ranil defeats Karu, reelected party leader

December 19, 2011   03:47 pm

Ranil Wickramasinghe has been reelected as the leader of the United National Party in the election held today. Ranil Wickramasinghe, who received 68 votes, defeated Karu Jayasuriya by a majority of 42 votes.

Karu Jayasuriya had received only 26 out of the total 94 votes casted today.

Sajith Premadasa has been elected as Deputy Leader of the UNP defeating Ravi Karunanayake with a majority of 8 votes. Sajith received 50 votes while Ravi had secured 42 votes.

Daya Gamage has been elected as the National Organizer of the UNP, defeating Dayasiri Jayasekara by 56:36 votes in the election.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories