UPFA MPs request President for ministerial posts

UPFA MPs request President for ministerial posts

April 21, 2012   02:59 pm

Parliamentarians Nishantha Mutuhettigama, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Sarath Weerasekara and Sanath Jayasuriya have written to President Mahinda Rajapaksa requesting ministerial positions.

Mutuhettigama said that they, as candidates who gained the highest votes from their respective districts in the general election, had decided to make the request from the President.

The Galle District MP said he personally handed over the request letter to President Rajapaksa yesterday (21).

Mutuhettigama said it has been two years since they entered Parliament and that they worked for two years without any posts.

Ministers and Deputy Ministers are working while we watch and wait, he said “we have waited enough, is the message we gave the president and the government.”

Mutuhettigama said he believe they would receive a positive response to their request by May.

At least if Deputy Minister posts are given, we believe we can work for the public’s benefit, he said speaking to the press in Galle today.

“There will definitely be a cabinet reshuffle next month. I believe the Galle District will receive a Deputy Minister in that reshuffle,” he added.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories