UNP to hold special meeting, decide on May Day absentees

UNP to hold special meeting, decide on May Day absentees

May 7, 2012   09:54 am

A special gathering of several United National Party (UNP) parliamentarians is scheduled to be held later today (07), to review the progress of the joint opposition May Day rally and discuss action to be taken against those who did not attend the event in Jaffna, sources within the party said.

While the meeting is to be chaired by Opposition Leader Ranil Wickramasinghe, it is reported that emphasis will be given to action the party is to take against MPs and members of the party who were absent at the May Day rally.

It is said that out of the MPs who have been identified as not attending the rally, Sajith Premadasa and Dilip Wedaarachchi had obtained prior approval from the party while the remainder had failed to inform in advance.      

Sources within the United National Party said that MPs Buddhika Pathirana, Karu Jayasuriya, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Thalatha Athukorale, Ashok Abeysinghe, Rosy Senanayake and Sujeewa Senasinghe are among those identified as not participating in the joint opposition May Day rally.

However, UNP General Secretary had stated that the Working Committee would decide on those who missed out on the rally according to the progress report of the Labour Day rally. (AdaDerana)

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories