Universities closed indefinitely due to lecturers’ strike

Universities closed indefinitely due to lecturers’ strike

August 21, 2012   03:15 pm

All universities except Medical Faculties will be closed from today until further notice due to the strike action by university lecturers, the Ministry of Higher Education said.

Therefore all faculties except Medical Faculties in 21 universities including Colombo, Peradeniya, Sri Jayawardenapura, Kelaniya, Moratuwa, Jaffna, Ruhuna, Rajarata, Sabaragamuwa and Wayamba universities will be closed down.

The Ministry, however, said the reopening date of the universities will be announced as soon as possible.

University lecturers had resorted to strike action since July 04, over demands such as wage hikes, paralyzing education activities of the university system.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories