Govt. members appointed to PSC ordered to probe CJ

Govt. members appointed to PSC ordered to probe CJ

November 8, 2012   06:07 pm

The government members appointed to the Parliamentary Select Committee on the impeachment of the Chief Justice were announced today.

Anura Yapa, Nimal Siripala De Silva, Susil Premajayantha, R. Senaratne, Wimal Weerawansa, Dilan Perera and Neomal Perera were appointed.

Eleven members are to be appointed for the Parliamentary Select Committee which will probe the allegations contained in the impeachment motion brought against the Chief Justice.

It was previously reported that a 9-member committee is to be appointed on the impeachment containg 14 allegations against Shirani Bandaranayake.

However, the Speaker has notified Chief Government Whip, Dinesh Gunawardana and Chief Opposition Whip, John Amaratunga to name the members of the committee, which will be represented by 7 parliamentarians from the ruling UPFA government.

The four opposition members will be represented by 2 MPs from the United National Party (UNP), a Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MP and one member from the Democratic National Alliance (DNA). 

The names should be forwarded to Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa before November 10, after which he will inform Parliament regarding the committee’s Chairman, Secretary and members, sources said. 
Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories