UNP names Amaratunga and Kiriella for PSC; Sampanthan  from TNA

UNP names Amaratunga and Kiriella for PSC; Sampanthan from TNA

November 12, 2012   04:15 pm

The United National Party (UNP) today nominated MPs John Amaratunga and Lakshman Kiriella for the Parliamentary Select Committee to probe allegations against the Chief Justice while the Tamil National Alliance named MP R. Sampanthan as its sole representative.

The committee will inquire into the 14 charges contained in the impeachment motion presented against Chief Justice Shirani Bandaranayake.

The Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa, in order to facilitate all political parties in the Select Committee had requested for the appointment of eleven members for the Committee. 

As per the Constitution it can be a Committee of a minimum of seven members.

The committee is currently represented by 7 members from the ruling UPFA government and four opposition members, divided as 2 MPs from the UNP and one each from TNA and DNA.

Names nominated for the 11-member committee:

United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) –

Anura Priyadarshana Yapa
Nimal Siripala de Silva
Susil Premajayantha
Rajitha Senaratne
Wimal Weerawansa
Dilan Perera
Neomal Perera

United National Party (UNP) –

John Amaratunga
Lakshman Kiriella

Tamil National Alliance (TNA) –

R. Sampanthan

Democratic National Alliance (DNA) –

Vijitha Herath

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories