Tsunami rehearsal in 14 coastal districts today

Tsunami rehearsal in 14 coastal districts today

July 30, 2013   09:55 am

A tsunami rehearsal will be held in 14 selected coastal districts of Sri Lanka at 3.00pm today, the Disaster Management Center (DMC) said.

The DMC said the national level evacuation drill will cover 14 tsunami vulnerable districts namely; Gampaha, Colombo, Kalutara, Galle, Matara, Hambantota, Ampara, Batticaloa, Trincomalee, Killinochchi, Jaffna, Mannar, Puttalam and Mullaitivu.

Objectives of the exercise are to ascertain the preparedness levels, test the speed and the reliability of disaster early warning, check the effectiveness of last-mile dissemination and response and also to identify gaps and shortcomings of early warning dissemination and response, the DMC said.

The exercise would consist of activities at district, divisional and GN levels and District Disaster Management Assistant Directors will select one village from the district with your consent to be evacuated on the receipt of a Tsunami warning.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories