VIDEO: Dayasiri and Ekanayake sworn in as Chief Ministers

VIDEO: Dayasiri and Ekanayake sworn in as Chief Ministers

October 3, 2013   11:42 am

Dayasiri Jayasekara and Sarath Ekanayake took oaths as Chief Ministers of North Western and Central provinces before the President a short while ago.

Former UNP MP Jayasekara received the highest preference votes from the Kurunegala District with an unprecedented 336,327 votes at the Provincial Council election held on September 21.

He resigned from Parliament to contest for the North Western Provincial Council under the ruling party.

Meanwhile Sarath Ekanayake, who was the former Central Chief Minister, came second in the Kandy District with 70,174 preference votes while Anuradha Jayaratne, son of Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratne, received the highest preference votes in the district with 107,644 votes.

Following are the Provincial Ministers appointed for the two councils:

North Western Province Ministers:

Chief Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara
Sanath Nishantha
Sandya Rajapaksa
Gunadasa Dehigama
Dharmasiri Herath

Central Province Minister:

Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake
Bandula Yaalegama
Ramasamy Muthiah
Ediriweera Weerawardena
Pramitha Bandara Tennakoon

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories