VIDEO: MPs beat Ministers to win Speaker’s Trophy
Captain of the team of MPs, Ravi Karunanayake accepts the trophy from Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa.

VIDEO: MPs beat Ministers to win Speaker’s Trophy

December 15, 2013   03:05 pm

A team comprising of Sri Lankan Parliamentarians defeated a team of Cabinet Ministers by 4 wickets in a softball cricket match at the Sports Ministry Grounds to win the ‘Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa Trophy’ on Sunday.

Batting first, the Ministers posted a formidable total of 198 for the loss of 7 wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Deputy Minister of Local Government and Provincial Councils, Indika Bandaranayake topped scored for his team with 73 runs.

However, the team of MPs managed to chase down the target losing only 6 wickets in the process.

The Team of Ministers was led by Sports Minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage and comprised of Susil Premajayantha, Dullas Alahapperuma, Wimal Weerawansa, Johnston Fernando, Mahinda Amaraweera, Premalal Jayasekara, Indika Bandaranayake, Rohana Dissanayake, Earl Gunasekara, Jagath Pushpakumara, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Lasantha Alagiyawanna and Vinayagamoorthy Muralitharan.

The Parliamentarians were led by UNP MP Ravi Karunanayake while Namal Rajapaksa served as his deputy.

Neranjan Wickramasinghe, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Lohan Ratwatta, Harin Fernando, Tharanath Basnayake, Erik Weerawardena, Dilum Amunugama, Kanaka Herath, Shehan Semasinghe and Nalin Bandara formed the rest of the team.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories