New coins presented to PM...

New coins presented to PM...

November 27, 2018  

The Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) issued a new series of circulation coins with face value of Rs.10, Rs.5, Rs.2 and Re.1 with objectives of reducing the cost of coins minting, increasing the durability of coins, giving more portability and identifying easily by visually impaired people.

The first coins pack was officially presented to the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Mahinda Rajapakse by Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy, Governor of CBSL today (27 November).

The coins will be issued into circulation from 03 December 2018 through licensed commercial banks. These new coins are circulated along with the existing coins of the same denominations issued earlier.

Features of the New Coin Series:

All four denominations of coins of the new series are made of stainless steel that is less expensive than other metals and more durable than plated coins. The diameter and thickness of coins are resized to maintain a progressive pattern and the weight of coins is reduced to give more portability. Further, different edges are incorporated for easy identification of coins by visually impaired people.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Picture Stories

Most Viewed Video Stories