President appoints special committee to look into nationwide power failure

President appoints special committee to look into nationwide power failure

March 15, 2016   11:14 am


President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed a special committee to make recommendations to the Government regarding the steps that should be taken immediately on nationwide power failure considering issues related in this regard and scrutinizing the other factors on this matter.

The committee is comprised of Minister of Power and Renewable Energy, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Ministers Susil Premajayantha, Patali Champika Ranawaka, Sagala Ratnayake, Deputy Ministers Eran Wickramaratne and Ajith P. Perera.

The first report of this committee will be submitted to the President within one week, the President’s Media Division said.

This committee will provide recommendations as how to supply electricity service without any obstacle into the field of development of the country as well as to the day to day life of the public while solving issues prevailing in the field of energy.

The above mentioned committee is expected to fulfill their respective duties within three months and the President has given the authority to the committee to get the assistance of prominent intellectuals in the field of power and energy.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories