25 senior lawyers appointed as President’s Counsel

25 senior lawyers appointed as President’s Counsel

April 27, 2017   04:08 pm

President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed 25 senior lawyers as President’s Counsel, during a ceremony held at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo.

Prominent attorneys such as Daya Pelpola, Ariya B. Rekawa, Neville Abeyratne, Upul Jayasuriya, J.C. Weliamuna, Saliya Pieris, M.A. Sumanthiran and Mohamed Nizam Kariyappar are among those appointed as President’s Counsel.

“The President appointed these Senior Lawyers, who have reached eminence in the profession and have maintained high standards of conduct and professional rectitude, according to the power vested in him under the clause 33(2)(e) of the Constitution as President’s Counsels,’ the PMD said. 

The appointed members are as follows:

Daya Pelpola
Ariya B.Rekawa
Anura Bandara Meddegoda
Nissanka Nanayakkara
Neville Abeyratne
K. Anuja Kaushika Premarathna
L.M. Hidayatullah
Samantha Rathwatte
Wijerathna Dharmasena
Upali Senarathna
Padma Bandara
Saliya Peiris
Karunarathna Herath
Mahendra Suwadarathna
P.C.M. Jayasekara
Mohan Weerakoon
R.S.P. Samaranayaka
Upul Jayasuriya
Ananda Wickramasekara
J.C Weliamuna
A. Sumanthiran
Vijaya Niranjan Perera
Karunadevage Wimaladasa
Mohammad Nisam Kariyappar
Vivekanandan Puvitharan

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories