WPC’s Chief Govt Whip and House Leader changed

WPC’s Chief Govt Whip and House Leader changed

September 13, 2017   03:40 pm

 The Chief Government Whip of the Western Provincial Council Gunasiri Jayalath and the Leader of the House Sunil Jayamini have been removed from their respective posts. 

The Acting Chairman of the Provincial Accounts committee Meryl Perera has also been removed from that position. 

Meanwhile provincial council member Chandana Jayakody has been appointed as the new Chief Government Whip while Hector Bethmage has been appointed as the Leader of the House. 

The removals and new appointments have been made by the Chief Minister of the Western Province Isura Devapriya. 

Incidentally all three council members who were removed from their respective posts had voted against the 20th Amendment to the Constitution, to hold elections for all provincial councils on the same day, during the vote taken yesterday (12).  

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories