New provincial governors sworn in…

May 17, 2023  



Three new provincial governors were sworn in before President Ranil Wickremesinghe at the Presidential Secretariat this morning (May 17).
Accordingly, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena took oaths as the Governor of the North-western Province, P.S.M. Charles as the Northern Province and Senthil Thondaman as the Governor of the Eastern Province.

The new appointments were made after the governors of the Eastern, Northern and North-western provinces were removed by the Head of State on Monday (May 15).


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Picture Stories

Most Viewed Video Stories

Ven. Rajangane Saddharathana Thero arrested over controversial comments

Ven. Rajangane Saddharathana Thero arrested over controversial comments


Farmers in Padaviya claim Irrigation Dept. took over their cultivation lands despite freehold deeds

2022 (2023) G.C.E. Ordinary Level examination commences island-wide

Residents of Emelina Division of Brunswick Estate urge govt to complete housing project halted in 2010

Ticket issuing in public transport sectors will be digitalized within two months - Minister

Ada Derana Lunch Time News Bulletin 12.00

Headlines of Ada Derana 12.00 Midday News Bulletin - 2023.05.29