Four new Pradeshiya Sabhas added to Nuwara Eliya

Four new Pradeshiya Sabhas added to Nuwara Eliya

October 18, 2017   04:13 pm

Four new Pradeshiya Sabhas have been added to Nuwara Eliya District with the recent Amendment in Local Authorities Elections Act 4.

They are Norwood,Maskeliya,Agrapathana and Kotagala.

A discussion has been held with Political Parties yesterday (17) in this regard, said Ministry of provincial councils and Local Government Secretary Kamal Padmasiri.

The political parties have nodded approval for the proposals in this regard, the Secretary added.

Meanwhile,Minister of National Co-existence, Dialogue and Official Languages Mano Ganeshan yesterday(17) tipped of a preparation to increase the number of Pradeshiya Sabha members for Nuwara Eliya to 12 members. 

He stated that special discussions will be held to finalize an implementation process the increase the number of PS members. 

The Nuwara Eliya Pradeshiya Sabha currently has only 5 seats. A request was made by PS members to increase the number of seats to accommodate 12 members to ensure community reach and ease in administration. 

Minister Ganeshan stated that the amendments to the Nuwara Eliya Pradeshiya Sabha will not result in a postponement of elections.  



Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories