SLFP MPs who quit govt decide on future

SLFP MPs who quit govt decide on future

April 19, 2018   10:59 am

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) members who left the national government have decided to recommence their political activities from the 23rd April.

Sixteen SLFP members who left the national government after voting in favor of the no-confidence, held discussions, yesterday (18), at MP Thilanga Sumathipala’s residence.

Following the discussions, SLFP MP Lakshman Yapa Abeywardana commented to the media saying that they have discussed about how they would proceed in the next few months after leaving the national government.

He said they will hold various discussions with Mahanayake Theros in Kandy, party leaders and other groups to determine their future actions.

According to him they will act as the opposition while remaining as SLFP members. As an opposition, they will monitor the government and United National Party’s (UNP) actions and consider what their duties to ease public burdens, he said. 

He also stated that they have no intentions to “stay married” with the UNP.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories