Sri Lanka to re-launch ‘free Visa on arrival’ service

Sri Lanka to re-launch ‘free Visa on arrival’ service

July 24, 2019   11:22 am


Cabinet approval has been granted to re-launch the ‘free Visa on arrival’ service which was temporarily suspended.

The proposal was tabled at the Cabinet meeting by the Minister of Tourism Development, Wildlife & Christian Religious Affairs John Amaratunga.

Accordingly, in addition to tourists from Thailand, the European Union, the United Kingdom, the United States, Japan, Australia, Switzerland, Cambodia, who have previously been granted free visa on arrival, tourists from Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Philippines, Russia, China, India and England too will be eligible to receive the service.

The service was temporarily suspended by the Cabinet of Ministers to ensure the safety of the country following the Easter Sunday terror attacks.

However, due to the favorable conditions prevailing in the country, it has been approved to re-implement this program with a view to promoting the return of tourists.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories