UNP-led new alliance launched ahead of prez poll

UNP-led new alliance launched ahead of prez poll

November 1, 2019   03:37 pm


Multiple political parties led by the United National Party (UNP) today entered into an agreement to form a new coalition.

A total number of 32 political parties and 31 civil organizations had inked the accord in the presence of the General Secretary of the new alliance, Minister of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine Rajitha Senaratne.

The new coalition, named ‘Democratic National Front’, will accordingly work for the victory of their presidential election’s front-runner, Minister Sajith Premadasa.

Former President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga also joined this new alliance as an alternative group of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

Addressing the event, Premadasa said this unification of political parties and civil organizations will see to it that the country achieves prosperity, development, social justice, sovereignty, and territorial integrity.

Priority will be given to Buddhism and the safety of other religions and ethnicities will be ensured, Premadasa vowed.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, delivering his speech at the event, stated that the incumbent government has created a society where people can live freely, so much so that no one can be taken into police custody unlawfully.

The Premier also stressed that everyone linked to the Easter Sunday terror attacks has been arrested as of now, pointing out that the government has rendered its support for every measure that was taken internationally for crackdown on the ISIS organization.

Minister Rajitha Senaratne, the General Secretary of the new alliance, who addressed the gathering, stated that unlike the coalition formed by the other front-runner of the presidential election yesterday, the Democratic National Front comprises parties that are of different points of view.

The United National Party, Sri Lanka Muslim Congress, Api Sri Lanka movement led by former President Chandrika Bandaranaike, Democratic People’s Front, National Union of Workers, UP-Country People’s Front (Kandurata Janatha Peramuna), All Ceylon Makkal Congress, Democratic National Movement, Nava Sama Samaja Party and many other political parties inked the accord along with 31 civil organizations.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories