Gotabaya Rajapaksa assumes duties as President

Gotabaya Rajapaksa assumes duties as President

November 19, 2019   10:51 am


Gotabaya Rajapaksa assumed duties as the 7th Executive President of Sri Lanka at the Presidential Secretariat a short while ago.

Following religious observances and a pirith chanting ceremony, the newly elected President took office before the Commanders of the tri-forces.

The former President Maithripala Sirisena was also present at the ceremony.

Several political party leaders including Prof. G. L. Peiris, Dinesh Gunawardane, Douglas Devananda, Wimal Weerawansa, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Prof. Tissa Witharana and Members of Parliament, Bandula Gunawardane, Dayasiri Jayasekera, Gamini Lokuge, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardane, Keheliya Rambukwella, former Secretaries to the Presidents, Lalith Weeratunga and Udaya Seneviratne, new Secretaries Dr. P. B. Jayasundara, Major General Kamal Gunaratne, and S. R. Attygalle and former Defense Secretary Major General Shantha Kottegoda were also present on this occasion.

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa was sworn in as the 7th Executive President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, at a ceremony held yesterday (18) before Ruwanweliseya in Anuradhapura.

Gotabaya Rajapaksa was elected as President by obtaining 52.25% majority votes at the Presidential Election 2019 held on 16th November.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories