President & PM arrive for swearing-in of new Cabinet

President & PM arrive for swearing-in of new Cabinet

November 22, 2019   08:46 am


New Cabinet of Ministers is to be sworn-in before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa this morning (22).

Accordingly, President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa have arrived at the Presidential Secretariat for the swearing-in ceremony, Ada Derana correspondent said.

As the former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe tendered his resignation, the previous Cabinet of Ministers annulled.

New Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in yesterday (22) and assumed duties shortly afterward. Hence, it was decided to appoint a caretaker Cabinet of Ministers.

The new President is expected to appoint a 15-member interim cabinet until the election, accordingly to reports.


Tune into TV Derana or Ada Derana 24 to watch the live streaming of the swearing-in ceremony of the new Cabinet of Ministers.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories