Waruna Priyantha for MP seat vacated by late Ranjith de Zoysa

Waruna Priyantha for MP seat vacated by late Ranjith de Zoysa

December 13, 2019   10:47 am


Waruna Priyantha Liyanage’s name has been gazetted to fill the parliamentary seat vacated by the demise of UPFA Ratnapura District Member of Parliament Ranjith De Zoysa.

MP Ranjith De Zoysa, who had been receiving medical treatment at a hospital in Singapore, passed away on the 4th of December at the age of 57.

Two days later, Parliament’s Secretary General Dhammika Dasanayake informed the Election Commission of the vacancy in the 8th Parliament since the passing away of MP De Zoysa.

The candidate for the vacated parliamentary seat was chosen from the UPFA preferential list from the Ratnapura District Returning Officer.

The Election Commission subsequently issued the Gazette notification declaring the name of Waruna Priyantha Liyanage as the replacement for late MP De Zoysa.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories