‘Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sandhanaya’ holds first executive council meeting

‘Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sandhanaya’ holds first executive council meeting

February 25, 2020   11:57 pm


The first meeting of the executive council of ‘Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sandhanaya’, chaired by Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, was held at the Temple Trees this afternoon (25).

The meeting was attended by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, former President Maithripala Sirisena and the architect of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) Basil Rajapaksa.

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, Sri Lanka Freedom Party, Mahajana Eksath Peramuna, Sri Lanka People’s Party, Lanka Sama Samaja Party, Communist Party of Sri Lanka, National Freedom Front, Democratic Left Front and Desha Vimukthi Janatha Pakshaya had taken part in this meeting as political parties representing the alliance.

The executive council has approved the proposal to incorporate 5 new political parties into the alliance, which already consists of nine other parties. Accordingly, Eelam People’s Democratic Party, Ceylon Workers’ Congress, National Congress, Tamil Mahajana Vimukthi Sanvidhanaya and United People’s Party will represent Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sandhanaya in the future.

The council also approved the proposals to appoint Minister Dinesh Gunawardena as a deputy chairman of the alliance and Minister Wimal Weerawansa as its national organizer.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories