Parties submit national list nominations

Parties submit national list nominations

March 19, 2020   11:33 pm


Several parties have submitted their nominations for the National List to the Elections Commission today (19).

The national list of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) was handed over by the party Chairman Prof. G. L. Peiris and its General Secretary Attorney at Law Sagara Kariyawasam.

The list with 29 names consist of Chairman of SLPP Prof. G. L. Peiris, President’s Counsel Ali Sabry, ‘Yuthukama’ Chairman Gevindu Kumaratunga, former SLFP General Secretary Prof. Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa, former Central Bank Governor Ajith Nivard Cabral, former Cricket Captain Thilekaratne Dilshan, General Secretary of SLPP Attorney at Law Sagara Kariyawasam, Prof. Charitha Herath, Yadamini Gunawardena, Dr. Seetha Arambepola, Tiran Alas, Mohammed Muzammil, and Jayantha Ketagoda.

Meanwhile, the United National Party (UNP) and ‘Samgai Jana Balawegaya’ led by Sajith Premadasa submitted two separate national lists.

The UNP included names of John Amaratunga, Prof. Ashu Marasinghe, President’s Counsel Thilak Marapana, Saman Ratnapriya, Rohitha Bogollagama in their list.

‘Samagi Jana Balawegaya’ had added Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Mayantha Dissanayake, Tissa Attanayake, Harin Fernando, Eran Wickremaratne, Hussain Bhaila, Earl Gunasekera, Asad Sally, Shiral Lakthilaka, Imtiaz Bakeer Marker to their list.

Former MP Dayasiri Jayasekara submitted the national list of Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

It is to be noted that former Speaker of the Parliament Karu Jayasuriya and former MP Sagala Rathnayake had neither submitted nominations to contest the election nor were included in national lists.

Speaking on the matter, Jayasuriya said that he continuously tried to reconcile the UNP and ‘Samagi Jana Balawegaya’ to no avail.

Therefore, he has decided to neither contest the election nor enter the parliament through the national list, the former Speaker said.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories