Curfew in 19 districts to continue until April 1

Curfew in 19 districts to continue until April 1

March 30, 2020   06:42 pm


The President’s Media Division today issued an updated announcement on the curfew currently imposed across the country. 

It says the curfew now in force in the districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutura, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna will continue until further notice.

In all other districts, curfew which was re-imposed at 2.00pm today (30) will continue till 6.00am on April 01st, Wednesday.

Traveling to and from all districts is completely prohibited except for the purpose of providing essential services.

Those who misuse regulations introduced with the aim of ensuring smooth functioning of essential services will severely be dealt with according to the law, the release said.

Since the sole purpose of these measures is to ensure the well-being of the people of this country in the wake of COVID-19 outbreak, the Government requests the public to strictly follow the guidelines in a responsible manner.

The village Atalugama in the Kalutara district and the village Akurana in the Kandy district have been declared completely isolated areas. No one will be allowed to enter or leave from these two villages until further notice.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories