Presidential Task Force set up to look into education sector

Presidential Task Force set up to look into education sector

April 1, 2020   12:50 pm


A Presidential Task Force has been formed to look into the matters concerning the education sector in the country.

The extraordinary gazette notification pertaining to the establishment of the Task Force was published yesterday (31).

The Task Force on Education was formed by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa under the powers vested in him by Article 33 of the Constitution, with the objective of addressing the need to continue the education system without any hindrance in the face of the Coronavirus outbreak.

It is also tasked with modernizing the education system to suit the timely needs of the primary, secondary and tertiary education in the country.

The 26-member Task Force is chaired by Secretary to the Ministry of Higher Education, Technology and Innovations, Mr D.M.A.R.B Dissanayake. Its members include Secretary to the Ministry of Education Mr N.H.M. Chithrananda, Secretary to the Ministry of Skills Development, Employment & Labour Relations Mr D.M.A. Abeygunawardena, Chairman of the University Grants Commission Prof. Sampath Amaratunge.

In addition, the principal of Ananda College in Colombo Mr S.M. Keerthiratne the principal of Visakha Vidyalaya in Colombo Mrs Sandamali Aviruppola and Director of Gateway Group have also been named as members of this Presidential Task Force.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories