Curfew in 6 districts to continue until further notice

Curfew in 6 districts to continue until further notice

April 5, 2020   12:58 pm


The curfew imposed in Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna districts will be continued under further notice, stated President’s Media Division.

Meanwhile, the curfew in the remaining 19 districts will be temporarily lifted at 6 am tomorrow (06).

The curfew will be re-imposed at 2 pm on the same day for the relevant areas.

Traveling to and from all districts has been completely prohibited except for the purpose of providing essential services, the PMD said.

Those who misuse regulations introduced with the prime objective of ensuring the smooth and efficient functioning of essential services will severely be dealt with according to the law.

The government has put in place a mechanism to continuously supply essential food and other goods enabling the public to purchase them while at homes.

Those who are engaged in paddy farming and cultivation of small tea holdings and export crops in any district are permitted to carry out their activities.

Since the sole purpose of these measures is to ensure the well-being of the people of this country in this critical situation, the Government requests the public to strictly adhere to the guidelines in a responsible manner.

The villages which have been declared isolated areas in the districts of Colombo, Kandy and Kalutara will remain in the same category and no one will be allowed to enter or leave these areas until further notice.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories