First result of General Election 2020 released

First result of General Election 2020 released

August 6, 2020   01:01 pm


The Election Commission has released the first result of the 16th General Election of Sri Lanka.

Accordingly, results of the Galle electoral district were the first to be issued.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) leads with a total of 27,682 votes (72.70%) while the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) is second with 5,144 (13.51%).

In the meantime, the Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) is third with 3,135 (8.23%) and the United National Party (UNP) is fourth with 1,507 (3.96%).

With 243 votes (0.64%), Our Power of People Party (OPPP) has placed fourth.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories