SLPP sweeps Monaragala District

SLPP sweeps Monaragala District

August 6, 2020   10:24 pm


The final cumulative results of the Monaragala District have been released by the Elections Commission.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) secured a comprehensive victory in the district with 208,193 votes (74.12%) and managed to win 05 seats.

Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) is second with 54,147 votes (19.28%) and only secures 01 seat from the district. 

Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) is third with 11,429 votes (4.07%) and the United National Party (UNP) is in fourth place with 3,494 votes (1.24%).

However, both parties failed to secure any seats in the district.

Monaragala-Independent Group 3 has polled 535 votes (0.19%) and the Frontline Socialist Party (FSP) 437 votes (0.16%).

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories