Pilleyan leads Batticaloa preferential votes

Pilleyan leads Batticaloa preferential votes

August 7, 2020   12:57 pm

Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan alias Pilleyan of Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal (TMVP) has secured the highest number of preferential votes in the Batticaloa District.

However, the Illankai Tamil Arasu Kachchi (ITAK) managed to claim the victory in the district after polling 79,460 votes (26.66%). The ITAK won 02 seats in the district.

The TMVP meanwhile amassed the second highest number of votes in the district with 67,692 (22.71%) and secured one seat.

The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) has come in third with 34,428 votes (11.55%) and won one seat.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) received 33,424 votes (11.22%), also managing to secure a parliamentary seat.

United Peace Alliance (UPA) received 31,054 votes (10.42%) and Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) 28,362 votes (9.52%).

TMVP – 01
Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan - 54,198

ITAK – 02
Saanakkiya Rahul Rajapuththiran - 33,332
Kovinthan Karunakaram - 26, 382

SLMC – 01
Ahamed Zenulabdeen Naseer - 17,599

SLPP – 01
Sathasivam Viyalendiran - 22,218

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

TV Derana wins several top awards at 2022 Raigam Tele'es

TV Derana wins several top awards at 2022 Raigam Tele'es

Tunneling for irrigation project causing wells to dry up in several villages

Permission granted for anyone to sell goods on the roadside during festive season - Minister

Vegetable prices at Peliyagoda Manning Market rapidly decreasing

Sri Lanka must enter into a bi-partisan agreement - Senior economist Dr. Dunusinghe (English)

IGP summoned before Supreme Court (English)

Expert Committee to be appointed to assess development of sports sector (English)

Kaushalya Navaratne assumes duties as 27th BASL President (English)