Foreign Ministry temporarily suspends consular services

Foreign Ministry temporarily suspends consular services

October 22, 2020   01:25 pm


The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has decided to suspend all services offered by its Consular Affairs Division until further notice, to restrict the congregation of the general public.

The move comes into effect as a precautionary measure to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

In a notice published today (22), the Foreign Ministry said the Consular Affairs Division located at the Ceylinco Building in Colombo will remain closed for visitors, including exporters who visit the Division for attestation of Export Documents, until further notice.

Document attestation services will also not be offered by both the Regional Consular Offices in Matara and Jaffna, the notice read further.

For queries related to deaths of Sri Lankans overseas and death-related documentation assistance, the Foreign Ministry has requested the public to contact the following:

-Telephone numbers: 0776032252, 0773586433, 0718415623 and 070142824
-Fax number: 0112446091/0112333450

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories