Sajith on legal action against SJB members who voted for 20A

Sajith on legal action against SJB members who voted for 20A

October 25, 2020   09:05 am


The Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa has stated that legal action will be taken against Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) parliamentarians who voted in favor of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

While Members of Parliament have the right to make democratic decisions, it is not permissible to act outside the decision of a collective body, the SJB Leader pointed out.

Eight legislators representing the SJB, namely Diana Gamage, Nazeer Ahamed, A.A.S.M. Raheem, Faizal Caseem, H.M.M. Harees, M.S. Thowfeek, Arvind Kumar, and Ishak Rahman had backed the 20th Amendment to the Constitution at the vote held in Parliament on Thursday night (22).

MP Ranjith Madduma Bandara, speaking to media following the vote, had vowed to take disciplinary action against SJB’s assistant secretary, National List MP Diana Gamage.

At the SJB Parliamentary Group meeting on Friday (23), the party had decided to oust the members who voted in support of the 20th Amendment.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories