18 local gov. members pledge to support Maithri

18 local gov. members pledge to support Maithri

December 24, 2014   05:35 pm


North Central Provincial Council member P.B. Dissanayake and 12 Pradeshiya Sabha members of the Anuradhapura district left the ruling party, today.

The local government members also pledged to support Common Candidate Maithripala Sirisena at the forthcoming Presidential election.

This was announced at a press conference held in Anuradhapura with the participation of Parliamentarian Duminda Dissanayake, this morning. 
The District Secretary of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Chandrasiri Dissanayake also said that he will assist the Common Candidate.

Meanwhile, five UPFA members of the Seethawaka Pradeshiya Sabha including the Deputy Chairman Ananda Rupasinghe also pledged to support Maithripala Sirisena. The local government members had a discussion with the Common Candidate at the United National Party (UNP) headquarters in Sirikotha, this afternoon.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories