Jayasinghe Bandara to get Maithripala’s MP seat?

Jayasinghe Bandara to get Maithripala’s MP seat?

January 13, 2015   05:30 pm


The Elections Secretariat has informed the Polonnaruwa District Secretary for appointing the next suitable candidate to fill the parliamentary seat vacated by Maithripala Sirisena after his election as the President of Sri Lanka.  

Additional Elections Commissioner U. Amaradasa stated that Maithripala Sirisena, who was elected as President in the Janaury 8 election, has informed the Elections Secretariat that he has resigned from parliament.

Therefore UPFA candidate D.R. Jayasinghe Bandara, who received the 5th highest number of preference votes for the party from the Polonnaruwa District in the 2010 General Election, is likely to receive the parliamentary seat.  

Four UPFA MPS were elected to Parliament from the Polonnaruwa District.

The Polonnaruwa District Secretary confirmed that Jayasinghe Bandara’s name is next in the UPFA list sent to the Elections Commissioner to fill President Maithripala Sirisena’s parliamentary seat.


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories