SLFP empowers President to decide on Ministers, posts

SLFP empowers President to decide on Ministers, posts

August 28, 2015   06:37 pm


The Central Committee of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) today decided to authorize President Maithripala Sirisena, as the Chairman of the party, to appoint SLFP Ministers to the National Government as well as the Opposition Leader, Chief Opposition Whip and Deputy Speaker.

The proposal was approved at the SLFP central committee meeting which was held at the party’s headquarters this evening. 

A decision has been taken that all 80 SLFP MPs out of the 95 UPFA MPs elected to Parliament should unanimously approve the President’s decision and that strict disciplinary action will be taken against any SLFP Parliamentarian who opposes the said decisions. 

President Sirisena has also been empowered by the Central Committee to decide on the appointing of SLFP Ministers to the National Government. 

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories