Parliament approves civil society representitives of CC

Parliament approves civil society representitives of CC

September 22, 2015   03:10 pm

The Parliament today approved the 3 names nominated to represent the civil society in the Constitutional Council (CC).

The names of Dr. A.T. Ariyaratne, Dr. Radhika Coomaraswamy and Shibly Aziz were nominated for the council, which will comprise seven members from the Parliament and three independent members.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya and Opposition Leader R. Sampanthan are members of the CC.

The President and Prime Minister have nominated Ministers Patali Champika Ranawaka and Wijedasa Rajapakse as their respective representatives while the JVP has nominated MP Vijitha Herath. Minister W.D.J. Seneviratne is the other parliamentarian in the council. 

The Constitutional Council is tasked with establishing 9 independent commissions and monitoring it affairs.

Sarvodaya Founder Dr. Ariyaratne and former UN Under-Secretary General Dr Coomaraswamy were nominated to the council even under the previous Parliament, however Mr Aziz, an eminent President’s Counsel, was nominated for the first time.


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Maithripala speaks of gazettes he signed to protect environment

Maithripala speaks of gazettes he signed to protect environment

Local coconut oil manufacturers complain of injustice

Treasury releases funds to import medicinal drugs

2021 Grade 5 Scholarship exam held today 2021

Ten people die per day in road accidents - Ajith Rohana

Expert voices concerns over proposed Special Goods and Services Tax Bill (English)

Speaker of South Korea's National Assembly meets Sri Lankan President and PM (English)

NEWS IN BRIEF - 2022.01.21