M.S. Thowfeek to fill Hafeezís seat in Parliament

M.S. Thowfeek to fill Hafeezís seat in Parliament

January 23, 2016   11:53 am


The Elections Commission of Sri Lanka today said that Mohamed Shariff Thowfeek has been appointed to fill the UNP National List seat vacated with the resignation of A.R.A. Hafeez. 

M.S. Thowfeek was nominated by the General Secretary of the United National Party (UNP), it said in a statement. 

UNP National List MP Abdul Rauf Abdul Hafeez resigned as a Member of Parliament on Tuesday (19), citing personal reasons. 

Speaking to Ada Derana, he had stated that it was voluntary decision in order to make way for an SLMC member representing a district which is currently not represented by the party in Parliament. 

A member of the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC), which is a coalition partner of the ruling alliance, Hafeez was named as a National List MP of the United National Front for Good Governance following the 2015 parliamentary election.

Thowfeek represented the Trincomalee multi-member electoral district in the Sri Lankan Parliament between October 2000 and April 2004, firstly for the People’s Alliance then the United National Front (UNF).

Thowfeek returned to Parliament in April 2010, this time representing Trincomalee for the UNF.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories