New Cabinet sworn in

New Cabinet sworn in

October 29, 2018   07:39 pm

The new Cabinet of Ministers was sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo, short while ago.

Twelve Cabinet Ministers, one State Minister and one Deputy Minister took oath today while the rest are to be appointed in the coming days.

Newly appointed Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in as the Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs.

Dr Sarath Amunugama is the new Foreign Minister of Sri Lanka while Douglas Devananda and Arumugam Thondaman were also sworn in as ministers.

Meanwhile UNP MPs Dr. Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, Vasantha Senanayake, Suresh Vadivel and Ananda Aluthgamage also received posts in the new Cabinet.

New Cabinet Ministers: 

Mahinda Rajapaksa: Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs

Nimal Siripala de Silva: Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation

Dr. Sarath Amunugama: Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mahinda Samarasinghe: Minister of Ports and Shipping

Mahinda Amaraweera: Minister of Agriculture

Ranjith Siyambalapitiya: Minister of Power and Renewable Energy

Dr. Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe: Minister of Education and Higher Education

Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa: Minister of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources Development and Rural Economic Affairs

Faiszer Musthapha: Minister of Provincial Councils, Local Government, and Sports

Douglas Devananda: Minister of Resettlement, Rehabilitation, Northern Development, & Hindu Religious Affairs

Arumugam Thondaman: Minister of Hill Country New Villages, Infrastructure and Community Development

Vasantha Senanayake: Minister of Tourism and Wildlife

State Minister:

Suresh Vadivel: State Minister of Plantation Industries

Deputy Minister:

Ananda Aluthgamage: Deputy Minister of Tourism and Wildlife


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories