New Cabinet of Ministers sworn-in

New Cabinet of Ministers sworn-in

November 22, 2019   09:11 am

The new Cabinet of Ministers commenced taking oaths before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa a short while ago.

The swearing-in ceremony is taking place at the Presidential Secretariat with the participation of many dignitaries.

Accordingly, 15 new Ministers have been appointed to the Cabinet of the interim Government. These Ministers will serve in their respective posts until the general election is held next year.

The newly appointed Cabinet of Ministers is as follows:

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa – Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs, Policy Development, Buddha Sasana, Cultural, Water Supply & Urban Development, Housing Facilities Ministry

Nimal Siripala de Silva – Minister of Justice, Human Rights & Legal Reforms

Arumugam Thondaman – Minister of Community Empowerment & Estate Infrastructure

Dinesh Gunawardene – Minister of Foreign Affairs, Skills Development, Employment & Labour Relations

Douglas Devananda – Minister of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources

Pavithra Wanniarachchi – Minister of Women & Child Affairs, Social Security, Health & Indigenous Medicine

Bandula Gunawardene – Minister of Information & Communications Technology, Higher Education, Technology & Innovations

Janaka Bandara Tennakoon – Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils & Local Government

Chamal Rajapaksa – Minister of Mahaweli, Agriculture, Irrigation and Rural Development, Internal Trade, Food Security, Consumer Welfare 

Dullas Alahapperuma – Minister of Education, Sports and Youth Affairs

Johnston Fernando – Minister of Roads & Highways, Ports & Shipping

Mahinda Amaraweera – Minister of Passenger Transport, Power & Energy

Wimal Weerawansa – Minister of Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) & Enterprise Development, Industries & Supply Management

S.M. Chandrasena – Minister of Environment, Wildlife, Land & Land Development

Ramesh Pathirana – Minister of Plantations & Export Agriculture

Prasanna Ranatunga – Minister of Industrial Exports & Investment Promotions, Tourism & Aviation

In the meantime, the State Ministers of the interim Government will be appointed next Monday (25), President Gotabaya Rajapaksa said addressing the ceremony.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

CPC to take necessary decisions on filling stations disregarding guidelines (English)

CPC to take necessary decisions on filling stations disregarding guidelines (English)

Pope Francis donates EUR 100,000 to victims of Easter attack (English)

Sri Lanka expecting two crude oil cargos this month: Minister (English)

Gotabaya told not to leave Bangkok hotel for security reasons (English)

Schools to deliver onsite lessons all five weekdays (English)

'Ella Odyssey'luxury Colombo-Badulla train now up and running

LIVE🔴Ada Derana Late Night News Bulletin 10.00 pm

Pope Francis donates EUR 100,000 to victims of Easter attack