Five-member judge bench to hear FR petitions against elections date

Five-member judge bench to hear FR petitions against elections date

May 14, 2020   03:26 pm

The Supreme Court has appointed a five-member Judge Bench to hear the multiple Fundamental Rights (FR) petitions filed challenging the date set by Elections Commission to hold the General Election 2020.

Accordingly, Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya will serve as the Chairman of the Bench. Justices Buwaneka Aluvihare, Sisira de Abrew, Priyantha Jayawardena, and Vijith Malalgoda make up the remaining slots of the Bench.

Seven parties including Attorney at Law Charitha Gunaratne, Center for Policy Alternatives (CPA), and Journalist Victor Ivan, Samagi Jana Balawegaya filed Fundamental Rights petitions challenging the election date set by the Elections Commission.

The Attorney General, on behalf of the President, Chairman of the Election Commission Mahinda Deshapriya, and Members of the Commission N. J. Abeysekara and Ratnajeevan Hoole have been named as respondents of the petition.

The petitions were fixed for support on the 18th and 19th of May.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

NOTE:- Due to legal contstraints, the Ada Derana Editorial team has taken a decision to disable comments on all articles concerning ongoing court procedures.

Most Viewed Video Stories