Overwhelming majority for SLPP in Hambantota District

Overwhelming majority for SLPP in Hambantota District

August 7, 2020   02:05 am


The final results of Hambantota electoral district in the General Election 2020 have been released by the Election Commission.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) secured the most number of votes from this electoral district, amounting to 280,881 (75.10%). The SLPP thereby claimed 06 seats.

Bagging 51,758 votes (13.84%), the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) managed to win only 01 seat.

Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) placed the third with 31,362 votes (8.39%) while the United National Party (UNP) obtained only 5,017 votes (0.42%) in the fourth place.

These two parties however failed to secure any seats from Kurunegala district.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories