Shasheendra leads preferential votes in Monaragala District

Shasheendra leads preferential votes in Monaragala District

August 7, 2020   02:33 am


The results for Monaragala District preferential votes of the General Election 2020 have been released by the Election Commission.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) has clinched 05 seats with an overwhelming number of votes amounting to 208,193 (74.12%). SLPP candidate Shasheendra Rajapaksa topped the votes from the Monaragala District.

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) claimed only 01 seat from Monaragala District as it bagged 54,147 votes (19.28%).

Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) was the third with 11,429 votes (4.07%) while the United National Party (UNP) followed with 3,494 votes (1.24%), however, these two political parties did not succeed in winning any seats.


Shasheendra Rajapaksa – 104,729
Kumarasiri Rathnayake – 91,530
Vijitha Berugoda – 68,984
Jagath Pushpakumara – 66,176
Gayashan Nawananda – 45,384


Dharmasena Wijesinghe – 20,662

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories