ITAK claims top spot in Batticaloa District

ITAK claims top spot in Batticaloa District

August 7, 2020   02:43 am


The final results of the Batticaloa Electoral District have been released by the Election Commission.

Illankai Tamil Arasu Kachchi (ITAK) has managed to secure a victory in the district after polling 79,460 votes (26.66%). The ITAK has won 02 seats in the district.

Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal (TMVP) obtained the second highest number of votes in the district with 67,692 votes (22.71%) and secured one seat.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) came in third with 34,428 votes (11.55%) and also won one seat.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) received 33,424 votes (11.22%), also managing to secure a parliamentary seat.

United Peace Alliance received 31,054 votes (10.42%) and Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB)  28,362 votes (9.52%).

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories