2020 GE: Colombo District preferential votes

2020 GE: Colombo District preferential votes

August 7, 2020   10:28 am

Sarath Weerasekara, who contested the General Election 2020 from Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) has topped the preferential votes in Colombo District.

The SLPP has secured an unprecedented victory in this district, which had hitherto been a UNP stronghold.

SLPP received 674,603 votes (57.04%) and won a total of 12 seats in the district while the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) with 387,145 votes (32.73%) secured 06 seats.

Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) obtained 67,600 votes (5.72%) and won 01 seat from the district.

The United National Party (UNP) led by former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, who contested from the district, only managed 30,875 votes (2.61%).

Therefore, the UNP has failed to secure a single seat in Colombo District, a first for the party.

SLPP – 12
Sarath Weerasekara - 328,092
Wimal Weerawansa - 267,084
Udaya Prabhath Gammanpila - 136,331
Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe - 120,626
Bandula Gunawardena - 101,644
Pradeep Saman Kumara Udhugoda Rupasinghage - 91,958
Dinesh Chandra Rupasingha Gunawardena - 85,287
Madhura Withanage - 70,205
Premnath C. Dolawaththa - 69,055
Gamini Kulawansha Lokuge - 62,543
Achchige Don Susil Premajayanth - 50,321
Jagath Kumara - 47,693

SJB – 06
Sajith Premadasa - 305,744
S.M. Marikkar - 96,916
Mujibur Rahuman - 87,589
Harsha De Silva - 82,845
Patali Champika Ranawaka - 65,574
Mano Ganeshan - 62,091

JJB – 01
Anura Kumara Dissanayake - 49,814

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Derana wins several awards at 2021 State Television Awards

Derana wins several awards at 2021 State Television Awards

Gas cylinders have not exploded anywhere - Laugfs chairman

LIVE🔴Ada Derana Prime Time News Bulletin 6.55 pm

Person hospitalised after accidental contact with high voltage power line

Tune in at 6.55pm for Ada Derana main news bulletin on TV Derana

'Talk With Chathura' wins award for most outstanding talk show programme

Laugfs chairman speaks on gas cylinder explosions

Ranil requests govt to reveal country's foreign reserves situation to the parliament